The Fibonacci Quartet

The Fibonacci Quartet
Victoria Hall
01 Feb 2023 7:30pm - 9:00pm
Book Now

Beethoven – String Quartet Op. 18 No. 6 in B-flat Major
Josef Suk – Meditation on an Old Czech Chorale
Shostakovich—Two pieces for string quartet
Janacek – String Quartet No. 1  Kreutzer Sonata

Ludwig van Beethoven’s represents a pivotal point in Beethoven’s writing, showcasing his bold, innovative style. The piece is full of contrasts in tone, texture, and harmony with one of the most astonishing and complex scherzos in his oeuvre.

Josef Suk’s “Meditation on an old Czech Chorale,” is a beautiful and contemplative piece that explores themes of nostalgia and longing. Composed in 1914, it is based on the 12th century hymn of the same name, which remains popular to this day.

Leoš Janáček’s “Kreutzer Sonata,” is a highly expressive and emotionally charged work inspired by Tolstoy’s novella of the same name, itself inspired by Beethoven’s iconic sonata for violin.

The Fibonacci Quartet is an international ensemble, comprising Czech, Belgian, Welsh and Montenegrin nationalities. Competition successes include first prizes and special awards in the Beethoven Competition in London, Saint James Chamber Music Prize as well as the international “Triomphe de l’Art” Chamber Music Competition in Brussels. They are mentored by Krysia Osostowicz, a renowned violinist and chamber musician, and first violinist of the Brodsky String Quartet. The quartet regularly performs in the UK and Europe.

Kryštof Kohout, violin
Luna De Mol, violin
Elliot Kempton, viola
Kosta Popović, cello

HLSI Members: £15 in advance
Non-Members / Members on the door: £18 (depending on availability)
Wherever possible, please book by 1pm on the day of the event
Complimentary wine or soft drinks after the performance