The Medea String Quartet

Victoria Hall
12 Oct 2022 7:30pm - 8:30pm
Book Now

Following on from a late-September performance at Wigmore Hall the Medea Quartet will be delighting our Victoria Hall audience with Haydn’s “grandiose and symphonic” Quartet in G Major, Fanny Mendelssohn-Hensel’s “extraordinary and rhapsodic” E Flat Quartet and Bakekujira, The Lost Whale a new work by up and coming Italian composer Laura Marconi. The Medea Quartet premiered the work this past June.

This will be a one-hour Covid-compliant performance with no intermission. Book soon as tickets are limited.

£16 Non-members
£13 Members

Joseph Haydn – String Quartet Op 76 n 1
Fanny Mendelssohn-Hensel – String Quartet in E flat major
Laura Marconi – Bakekujira, The Lost Whale

Mira Marton, Violin
Clara Mezzanatto, Violin
Joanna Patrick, Viola
Ada Guarneri, Cello

The Medea String Quartet is comprised of current students and graduates of the Royal College of Music. Drawn together from a young age by a love for string quartet playing, Clara Mezzanatto and Ada Guarneri performed for many years in the same string quartet in their native Italy having met at the Xenia Chamber Music Course. Together, they have appeared at venues and festivals such as Unione Musicale Torino, Around EstOvest, Palazzo Barolo Torino and La Venaria Reale, and have received coaching from members of the Alban Berg and Delian String Quartet. Now based in London, they formed the Medea String Quartet in 2020 with English violist Joanna Patrick and violinist Mira Marton under the aegis of Simon Rowland-Jones. The quartet has received coaching from members of the Chilingirian, Endellion and Castalian String Quartet. They will give the world premiere of ‘Bakekujira’ by Italian composer Laura Marconi and have already given numerous recitals in the United Kingdom.

Quote Sources

Gresham Haydn

Hyperion Mendelsohn